The Boxing Diary

Views and Opinions

Monday, January 28, 2013

Nonito Donaire BWAA Fighter of the Year

Photo via Goggle Images

The prestigious Boxing Writer Association of America (BWAA) announced on Sunday that World Boxing Organization (WBO) junior featherweight champion Nonito ‘The Filipino Flash’ Donaire as the recipient of its Sugar Ray Robinson’s “Fighter of the Year” award.

Donaire 31-1 (KO 20) name came out as the winner out of five nominees that includes Danny Garcia, Robert Guerrero, Juan Manuel Marquez and Brian Viloria.

Donaire was perhaps the busiest boxer last year. He fought four world title fights against top caliber opponents defeating Wilfredo Vazquez Jr., Jeffrey Mathebula (by a dominant decision), Toshiaki Nishioka and Jorge Arce (via knockout).

Earlier Donaire was already named by Yahoo Sports, ESPN, Sports Illustrated and USA Today as “2012 Fighter of the Year”.

Other BWAA Awards:
Manny Pacquiao - Juan Manuel Márquez 4 – Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier “Fight of the Year”.
Robert Garcia – Eddie Futch “Trainer of the Year”.
Max Kellerman – “Broadcaster of the Year”.
Bruce Trampler – Long and Meritorious Service Award.
For more visit  

No comments:

Post a Comment